Muskingum News

On Campus

Faculty Awards Announced
Sue Hasseler and Karen Dunak

Muskingum University announced the 2023 Faculty Awards honorees during the annual Celebration of Excellence ceremony on Friday, April 14.

Muskingum’s faculty awards were first bestowed in 1895. Faculty members are nominated by their peers, and the honorees are selected by the prior year’s award recipients.

Professor of History Dr. Karen Dunak received the William Oxley Thompson Award for Excellence in Teaching, named for the Muskingum graduate who became President of Miami University of Ohio and The Ohio State University. Dr. Dunak is known for providing her students with innovative active learning experiences in and out of the classroom.

Dr. Melissa Conroy, Associate Professor of Religion, was honored with the William Rainey Harper Award for Outstanding Scholarship, named for the Muskingum graduate and New Concord native who founded the University of Chicago. Alongside her inspirational teaching, Dr. Conroy is a productive scholar, working at the intersection of gender studies, philosophy, and spirituality.

Melissa Conroy

Associate Professor of Education Dr. Keith Eberly received the Cora I. Orr Faculty Service Award. Dr. Eberly is known for his service on campus and in the community, including co-directing the John and Annie Glenn Public Service Fellows Program, advising student organizations, and serving in faculty leadership roles. The award is named in honor of Professor Orr for her expansive service to Muskingum as a language and psychology instructor, counselor, and student-centered Dean of Women.

Keith Eberly

Back to top