Muskingum News

In the News

Cheryl Hetrick Carpenter ’86 Elected Chair of Board of Trustees
Cheryl Hetrick Carpenter

Cheryl Hetrick Carpenter ’86 has been elected Chair of the Muskingum University Board of Trustees. She will serve a three-year term, which began July 1, 2022.

She succeeds Dr. Kim Gage Rothermel ’71, who led the Board as Chair from July 1, 2019, through June 30, 2022, before retiring as Trustee Emerita after 25 years of Board service.

“We are very grateful to Kim Rothermel for her dynamic and visionary Board leadership, and we are excited to welcome Cheryl Carpenter to her new role,” said Muskingum University President Susan S. Hasseler. “We are fortunate to have such talented and dedicated trustees who share their time and expertise with the University.”

“I am deeply honored to serve as the Board Chair and support the effort to make a positive impact on students and the entire campus community.” Cheryl said. “I look forward to working with President Hasseler and her leadership team, along with the experienced and passionate Board of Trustees.”

Cheryl served on the Alumni Council from 1997-2009 and rejoined the group in 2018.  She was Alumni Council President and the alumni-designated member of the Board of Trustees from 2019-2021 and was elected to the Board of Trustees in 2021.

An Institutional Consulting Director with Graystone Consulting, Cheryl focuses on total enterprise consulting for institutional endowment, foundation, healthcare system, and pension clients, along with private wealth clients. She serves on the Advisory Board of the Graystone Foundation and is a member of the leadership team for the Graystone Columbus/Grand Rapids group.

Cheryl earned her Muskingum Bachelor of Science degree in Mathematics and Business and holds a Master of Business Administration degree from The Ohio State University. She and her husband Scott Carpenter ’88 reside in Granville, Ohio.

The Board of Trustees has also elected David Kratoville ’81 as Vice Chair and Craig Nordlund as Secretary. Each will serve three-year terms which began July 1, 2022. Dave has served on the Board since 2020 and Craig has served since 2010.

Back to top