Muskingum News


Students’ Glenn documentary takes home 4th place
CBI Awards

Orbit TV of Orbit Media, Muskingum University’s student-run media organization, placed fourth in the category of Best Documentary/Public Affairs at the College Broadcasters, Inc. (CBI) National Student Production Awards for the piece, “John Glenn: An American Hero.” The award was presented at the 2017 National Student Electronic Media Convention, held in San Antonio, Texas in late October. Nationally, there were more than 850 entries for the production awards within 25 categories.

Orbit TV’s documentary was produced by Muskingum student broadcasters, Marty Kurtz ’17 of Cleveland, Andrew Dunlap ’17 of Coshocton, Aaron Eno ’17 of New Concord, and Chris Morgan ’17 of Norwalk. The students were advised by Dr. Jeff Harman, emeritus professor of communication, and Dr. Lisa Marshall, associate professor of communication and WMCO’s station manager. The 20-minute video was part of a senior capstone project. “John Glenn: An American Hero” was displayed at The John & Annie Glenn Museum as an introduction for museum guests during its fall season. It will continue to be viewed in the spring.

Muskingum student broadcasters who attended the National Student Electronic Media Convention and accepted the award on behalf of Orbit TV were: Brenna Busby ’18 of Moon Township, PA; Dunlap; Eno; Chad Holmes ’19 of Austintown; Kurtz; Jonnie Neuhart ’17 of Cambridge; Brieanna Rhoades ’19 of Pataskala; Rachel Schlarb ’18 of West Lafayette; Zach Vinski ’18 of Claysville, PA; and Logan Weaver ’17 of Malta.

Orbit Media is a 13-time finalist and a first place award winner, since 2005, for both radio and TV productions.

"For our students to be recognized at the national level helps validate the importance of their contributions not only to our media program, but for the greater Orbit Media audience,” said Dr. Marshall. “The recognition allows student producers to see how their work matters and moves others. I always enjoy seeing our student staff energized for being recognized as a national finalist among so many larger schools across the country."

CBI represents students involved in radio, television, webcasting and other related media and ensures a commitment to education and the student pursuit of excellence. The convention provides sessions for teaching students and advisers about managing student media and producing effective content across broadcast mediums.


IN THE PHOTO: (Left to right) Logan Weaver, Marty Kurtz, Dr. Lisa Marshall, Andrew Dunlap, Rachel Schlarb, Aaron Eno, Chad Holmes, Brieanna Rhoades, Zach Vinski, and Jonnie Neuhart.

Back to top