Campus News
Muskingum in the News
Campus Events
Athletic News
News Archives
Commencement Archives
Contact Public Relations
Return to Archive Index

Students earn broadcasting and journalism awards

Muskingum University has recognized excellence in its student broadcasters and journalists with four awards.

The university is home to three media outlets, known collectively as Orbit Media.  The radio station is WMCO-FM, the television station is Orbit TV and the newspaper is The Black and Magenta

KENTKarysa Kent, a junior communication major from Warsaw, Ohio, was named Orbit TV Broadcaster of the Year and also received The Amos Family Scholarship for Broadcast Journalism.  The awards recognize leadership and significant contributions to the university’s television and radio stations.  In addition to her work at the television station, Kent is a reporter for Orbit Media News, serves as community calendar director for the television station and the radio station and works at the radio station as a disc jockey. 


RAUSCHKayla Rausch, a junior communication and digital media design major from New Philadelphia, Ohio, received the WMCO Broadcaster of the Year award. Rausch was recognized for her work as promotions director at the radio station, where she also works as a disc jockey.



MORGANChris Morgan, a sophomore communication major from Norwalk, Ohio, received The John McCance Scholarship.  Morgan works as a sports production producer at WMCO and as sports editor for The Black and Magenta.  The scholarship is named for John McCance,  a highly regarded broadcast engineer at Muskingum and in southeastern Ohio and was established by Grant Hafley, the owner of AVC Communications, a broadcasting group in Cambridge, Ohio. 


HOLMESChristine Holmes, a junior English and journalism major from Youngstown, Ohio, received the Amos Family Scholarship for Print Journalism.  Holmes is news and managing editor for The Black and Magenta, a producer for Orbit TV News and a WMCO disc jockey.



Faculty advisors for Orbit Media are Associate Professor of Communication Dr. Lisa Marshall and Professor of Communication Dr. Jeffrey Harman.