Campus News
Muskingum in the News
Campus Events
Athletic News
News Archives
Commencement Archives
Contact Public Relations
Return to Archive Index

Awards for excellence in teaching, scholarship and faculty service granted at Annual Convocation

FACULTY AWAD WINNERSAt Muskingum College's Annual Convocation, held August 26 on the campus, three faculty members were recognized for excellence in teaching, scholarship and service. The awards were presented by Vice President for Academic Affairs Dr. Paul F. Reichardt.

The William Oxley Thompson Award for Excellence in Teaching was awarded to Associate Professor History Dr. Laura J. Hilton. This award is named in honor of an alumnus whose career combined teaching, ministry and service as president of Miami University and The Ohio State University.

Dr. Reichardt said of Dr. Hilton, “Her commitment to rigorous standards and creative teaching is recognized by faculty colleagues and students alike. The measure of students’ respect for her teaching is reflected in their evaluations of her classes, which are always among the highest in the college.”

Dr. Hilton joined the faculty in 2001. She earned a bachelor’s degree summa cum laude from The College of New Rochelle, a master’s degree in early modern history from Fordham University and a doctorate in history from The Ohio State University.

The William Rainey Harper Award for Outstanding Scholarship was granted to Associate Professor of Art Yan Sun. This award is named for an alumnus who was a renowned scholar, educator and the founder and first president of the University of Chicago.

Dr. Reichardt noted that Professor Sun has been, “dedicated to exploring the creative potential of the artistic mediums of drawing, painting, and photography. Your creative works have been exhibited nationally and your art works have been presented in two book-length volumes.”

Professor Sun joined the faculty in 1997. He earned a bachelor of fine arts degree from Northwest Normal University in Lanzhou (Lon-Joe), China, a master of arts degree in art history from Xi’an University, and a master of fine arts in painting and drawing from Texas A &M University - Commerce.

The Cora I. Orr Faculty Service Award was bestowed upon Professor of Chemistry Dr. Raymond D. Rataiczak. It is named in honor of a Muskingum faculty member and administrator who served the college with devotion and distinction for four decades.

Of Dr. Rataiczak’s achievements at the college Dr. Reichardt said, “Your leadership has been instrumental in the formation of Muskingum College’s identity as a leading 21st century comprehensive liberal arts college.”

Dr. Rataiczak joined the faculty in 1980. He earned a bachelor’s degree in mathematics from Waynesburg College and a doctorate in physical chemistry from Saint Louis University.

IN THE PHOTO: Pictured from left to right are Dr. Laura Hilton, Dr. Paul Reichardt, Dr. Ray Rataiczak and Yan Sun.